PDA

View Full Version : Reflections on 9/11

rfrobison
09-05-2011, 11:42 PM
With the 10th anniversary of the event fast approaching, I thought I'd kick off a discussion of people's memories, experiences, and thoughts a decade on.

I'm more interested in people's personal thoughts than political or policy debates on the significance of 9/11 and how the U.S. or the world should handle the aftermath, but I leave it open-ended.

The thing that sticks with me the most: I think the attack started around 7:30 p.m. Japan time. My wife and I had come back from dinner and I turned on the TV just in time to watch the second plane hit. At that point it was clear it wasn't an accident.

I think about an our or so later Queen Elizabeth II had an honor guard in front of Buckingham Palace play "The Star Spangled Banner." I started to cry.

I'll always have a soft spot in my heart for Britain and the queen for that.

Don Zeko
09-06-2011, 12:05 AM
I was a freshman in high school when it happened. I didn't know anything had happened until about mid-morning, when people were trading rumors at the beginning of my french class. When the teacher came in she turned on the TV in time for us to see the towers fall.

It's funny, but I watched it with a strange sense of detachment. At the time it elicited about as much of an emotional reaction from me as some scene in a Jerry Bruckheimer (http://www.theonion.com/articles/american-life-turns-into-bad-jerry-bruckheimer-mov,220/) movie. It wasn't until later, when I approached the events from a different direction and with more context, that it became traumatic.

Sulla the Dictator
09-06-2011, 01:06 AM