PDA

View Full Version : Oh, forget that whole "I served in Vietnam" bit

nikkibong
05-17-2010, 09:10 PM
Excellent reporting from the New York Times

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/18/nyregion/18blumenthal.html

Wonderment
05-17-2010, 09:31 PM
I have a dear friend who is a real Vietnam War veteran. We once went together to protest high school recruitment before the local school board. The right-wing extremist macho-man on the board was going on and on, running out the clock, about how "as a Vietnam veteran, I did this, and I believe that."

Afterwards, my friend told me, "You always have to call them on that bullshit. I've seen it 1000 times. This is why I always identify myself as a Vietnam COMBAT veteran."

It turns out a common line of B.S. is to claim (when pressed) to be a Vietnam era veteran, which depending on how you define an era can run from the Civil War to the Intergalactic War. This is the same exact trick Blumenthal tried:

“I served during the Vietnam era,” he said. “I remember the taunts, the insults, sometimes even physical abuse.”

Of course, the part about the taunts, insults and physical abuse is fictional as well.

Jyminee
05-17-2010, 09:50 PM
Can this finally put to rest the charge that the NYT is guilty of left-wing bias? They broke the Spitzer prostitution story, bringing down the Democratic governor of NY. Then they broke the story about Gov. Paterson covering up for his crony, ending his political career as well. Now they've probably mortally wounded the Dem Senate nominee from CT.

Can you imagine Fox News breaking such news about a Republican?

Wonderment
05-18-2010, 03:32 AM
Excellent reporting from the New York Times

Yes, but.... I wish responsible sources would not regurgitate the "We were spat upon" baloney, as the NYT did twice in this article.