PDA

View Full Version : Congressional Corruption Edition

Bloggingheads
05-06-2008, 12:31 PM

David Thomson
05-06-2008, 01:42 PM
This movement to reform Congress is outdated. It is already happening. The system is now far more transparent than it was just a few years earlier. If nothing else, the Internet alone helps the citizenry know what is going on in Washington, DC. Larry Lessig believes that powerful interest groups got the bankruptcy bill though Congress. He conveniently forgets that people like me strongly supported it. Many years ago I worked as a bill collector---and became very cynical. Trust me on this, most people who go bankrupt have nobody but themselves to blame! They are selfish and childish individuals, and not “victims” of an unjust society. The rest of us pay extra to the credit card companies and other lenders when these folks get away with their nonsense. The bankruptcy bill literally protected hard working and honest Americans.

graz
05-06-2008, 02:37 PM
This movement to reform Congress is outdated. It is already happening. The system is now far more transparent than it was just a few years earlier. If nothing else, the Internet alone helps the citizenry know what is going on in Washington, DC. Larry Lessig believes that powerful interest groups got the bankruptcy bill though Congress. He conveniently forgets that people like me strongly supported it. Many years ago I worked as a bill collector---and became very cynical. Trust me on this, most people who go bankrupt have nobody but themselves to blame! They are selfish and childish individuals, and not “victims” of an unjust society. The rest of us pay extra to the credit card companies and other lenders when these folks get away with their nonsense. The bankruptcy bill literally protected hard working and honest Americans.
DT:
What would it take for you to acknowledge the real hardship cases of people who are bankrupted by medical bills?