PDA

View Full Version : Trimming the Hegemon

Bloggingheads
02-05-2008, 03:03 PM

Joel_Cairo
02-05-2008, 04:35 PM
Weird title for a diavlog including someone who cast a vote for McCain (http://www.danieldrezner.com/archives/003694.html) this morning.

royce4142
02-05-2008, 04:50 PM
Speaking of Foreign Policy:
I just ran across a new single from a Texas musician titled "Cheney's Toy." He's allowing free downloads on Super Tuesday at myspace.com/jamesmcmurtry

ohcomeon
02-05-2008, 05:04 PM
This was really, really, really boring.

Thus Spoke Elvis
02-05-2008, 05:06 PM
When I saw the title of this segment, two works sprung to mind: Clash of Civilizations, by Sam Huntington, and Jihad v. McWorld, by Benjamin Barber. I haven't read either in a decade, but when I did (and admittedly, I was a newbie to international relations at the time) I thought they both had considerable merit.

Huntington's work definitely stands the test of time: regardless of whether one agrees or disagrees with the thesis in whole or in part, it's certainly "important." I hesitated to mention Jihad after Drezner implied that he has little respect for Barber's work (or, at the very least, his style of prose). I nonetheless decided to mention it because I genuinely enjoyed reading it (more so than Huntington, actually) and found its arguments to be interesting and compelling, if not completely convincing. And I'm not sure we should expect much more from an international relations book targeted at a general audience. Still, I'd be interesting in learning more about the problems Drezner has with Barber.

policy wank
02-05-2008, 05:53 PM
What about Ethical Realism by Anatol Lieven and John Hulsman. It gives a very concise and informative history of the Cold War and then makes an attempt to apply those principles to our current situation. It certainly recognizes that the US is probably in decline. Drezner has mentioned it before, but I'm not sure if he likes it.